FIRE JOE MORGAN: Mistakes Were Made


Where Bad Sports Journalism Came To Die

FJM has gone dark for the foreseeable future. Sorry folks. We may post once in a while, but it's pretty much over. You can still e-mail dak, Ken Tremendous, Junior, Matthew Murbles, or Coach.

Main / Archives / Merch / Glossary / Goodbye

Wednesday, October 10, 2007


Mistakes Were Made

Pepsi, a cola renowned for its sabermetric aptitude, has released the candidates for its Clutch Performer of the Year award, an extremely fake award based on nonsense. As you can see, they chose the names out of a hat, and they chose incorrectly. Your 2007 clutchmen:

Jake Peavy
Mark Teixeira
Aramis Ramirez
J.J. Putz
Ryan Howard

At least they nominated good players. Too choke-y to make the list:

Magglio Ordonez
Prince Fielder
Matt Holliday
Vladimir Guerrero
David Ortiz
Albert Pujols
Miguel Cabrera
Chipper Jones
David Wright
Chase Utley
Hanley Ramirez
Johan Santana
C.C. Sabathia
Josh Beckett
Jonathan Papelbon
Takashi Saito
Everyone else in the league

Seems like maybe they chose guys based on their numbers with RISP or RISP and 2 outs. But really, Ramirez, Teixeira, Howard? They missed a combined 78 games with injuries. It's funny, too: if you look at Howard's situational numbers, he looked phenomenal in the clutch this year, but last year, by all standards a far better year in which he won the MVP, his RISP and RISP with 2 outs figures are dramatically lower. There you have it: conclusive proof that in the offseason Ryan Howard learned how to be clutch.

Labels: ,

posted by Junior  # 1:24 PM
Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home


04.05   05.05   06.05   07.05   08.05   09.05   10.05   11.05   12.05   01.06   02.06   03.06   04.06   05.06   06.06   07.06   08.06   09.06   10.06   11.06   12.06   01.07   02.07   03.07   04.07   05.07   06.07   07.07   08.07   09.07   10.07   11.07   12.07   01.08   02.08   03.08   04.08   05.08   06.08   07.08   08.08   09.08   10.08   11.08  

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?